I think about food way too much

So having decided, sort of, to do this I have spent the week thinking about it, I have blogged prolifically. I have been so massively amusing, witty, pithy even. And so knowledgeable (yes for any grammar spotters, as oppose to grandma spotters, whole different ball game, out there I know you shouldn’t start a sentence with an ‘and’ but, well, I just did). I have entertained and confided. I have moaned and enlightened. The only wee problem is that this has all been IN MY HEAD. Usually in the middle of the night although occasionally on my walks to and from the shops or even on my treadmill.  Just none of it actually written down.  Which is, quite frankly, a shame as some of it has been, to use an expression of my daughters, well funny!

The one thing that I have noticed is that I think about food way too much.  I seriously think that I think about food pretty much all the time.  I am not sure this is a good thing, and i have an small suspicion that this might be a tiny bit to blame for what I am steadfastly blaming on ageing metabolism!  For a long time I had a will of iron, seriously I cannot now imagine how I did that.  I would say no thank you.  I never do that now. Oh no, now it’s yes please all the way. It’s so much nicer!  Slightly awkward getting into my jeans but aside from that little thing, so much nicer.  I have a slight excuse this week as my precious angel, otherwise know as my daughter, is home for the weekend and I always feel the need to feed her pretty much every second she is here!  She is a ballet dancer so teeny tiny and so gorgeous you would not believe, and it’s not because she is thin, although she is ridiculously so, it’s because she appreciates it so much. She knows. She knows that when I present her with something, take last nights hot apple cookies with homemade vanilla, caramel crunch ice cream, that if I say how is it then ‘nice’ or even ‘lovely’ or my son’s favourite ‘good’ is so not what I am looking for. Oh no.  I need details. I need every morsel to be dissected and hell I need telling how wonderful I am. Tell me it’s gorgeous and I will do more. I am that needy!  This is one of the many reasons that she is perfect. She loves my cooking. I love her. It works.  The boys do too, obviously, but you know they are boys. It is food. Life is good. For me I think it is becoming a mission. A baking mission!  I could be a bit obsessed!

Leave a comment